Time for a Rewrite! || Plans for the Battle of Heritage Series

I’ve decided to cross post some of my Instagram content here on the blog! And today, I’m sharing a huge announcement!

Eight years ago I published a book. The Land of Cotton, book one in The Battle for Heritage series. It was a good first experience and honestly not the worst it could have been.

But I’ve learned a lot since then and I’m not gonna lie, I hate rereading these books. They aren’t what they could be, or even what I wanted them to be. Crucial characters got chopped, scenes I loved were culled and story lines got deleted that should have stayed in. In their place were story lines I never planned on and honestly, this is why I can’t write book five…it’s not the story it’s supposed to be and I don’t know how to finish it now.

There’s a bit more to this that I’m not comforting sharing at this time. But I am looking forward to rewriting this series.

What That’s Gonna Look Like 🔎

-New Titles for the Books (and possibly the series!)
-Some new character names, some old faithfuls
-Changes to the Mason Family Tree
-More medical and spy ring plot lines
-A smidgin of light romance (mostly between married couples)
-Longer books
-Historical facts blended into the story
-Unapologetic Southern Perspective
-The Truth about why the South Fought Explained
…and lots more!

I am currently in the pre-writing stage and honestly, I’m looking forward to getting a new and improved story out to y’all!

What do you want to know about the rewrites? What characters do you hope stay in the story? Any scenes/plots you hope make the cut?

Share it all in the comments below!

God Bless & God Bless America ❤

Ryana Lynn

Jeremiah 29:11

Responses

  1. Phoebe Avatar

    I am so looking forward to this!!! I never read the originals, but I am 1000% cheering for these! 🩵

    (Honestly . . . I hate rereading my first book too. 🤭 Mostly because it WAS just that – a first book – so the writing is awkward a lot, and the historical inaccuracies are SUPER cringe-worthy. (Obviously I didn’t do research XD) Maybe someday I’ll rewrite it . . . maybe. XD)

    And if you want different cover designs, I don’t know if you have someone you work with, but I am in that field! I’m in college for graphic design right now, but I’ve created all my own covers, and right now I’m working on one for a lady from our old church. Just a thought ^-^

    -Phoebe

    Like

    1. Ryana Lynn Avatar

      Thank you so so much!

      Lol, I think that’s the story of just about every author, first books are just rough, ya know? At least to them!

      Thank you for letting me know! I appreciate it!

      Like

  2. Hannah E. Griggs Avatar

    This is so exciting, Ryana! I can’t wait to see what the new stories are like!

    Like

    1. Ryana Lynn Avatar

      Aww, thank you so much! Me too, honestly XD

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.